Matt Bernhard

mobile: +1 281-725-8544


I'm a first year computer science Ph.D. student at the University of Michigan with Professor Alex Halderman. I graduated with a B.A. in Computer Science from Rice University in 2015, where I worked with Professor Dan Wallach on STAR-Vote. I have also spent time at Microsoft Research working on remote attestation and security protocols involving secure kiosks with Josh Benaloh. My research interests focus on the broad social implications of technology and privacy, delving into computer security, cryptography, networks, censorship, systems, and voting technology.


I am currently the course operations liaison for Securing Digital Democracy, an on-demand Coursera course.

For more information about the inspiration for this website's color scheme, read this. © Matthew D Bernhard 2015